IOM Sports Awards 2017 - Team of the Year Sponsored by Crowe Clark Whitehill - Crowe Isle of Man

IOM Sports Awards 2017 – Team of the Year Sponsored by Crowe Clark Whitehill

01-03-18 18:30 - 23:00
Villa Marina, Harris Promenade, Isle of Man
Address: Villa Marina, Harris Promenade, Isle of Man

2017The shortlist for the 2017 Isle of Man Sports Awards, has been announced today (18 January). The event will take place on Thursday 1 March 2018 at the Royal Hall, Villa Marina.

The Sportsman of the Year award category will be hotly contested by World Superbike champion Jonathan Rea, FIM Enduro World Championship rider Jamie McCanney, Celtic FC and Scotland national team footballer Kieran  Tierney, athletics record breaker Joe Reid, motorcyclists Dan Kneen and sidecar passenger Lee Cain, Parish Walk winner Liam Parker and European under-23 track cycling champion Matthew Bostock.

The Sportswoman of the Year category boasts British swimming champion Charlotte Atkinson, professional cyclist Anna Christian, multi-medal winning Island Games gymnast Tara Donnelly, international triathlete Hannah Howitt, England race walking medallist Erika Kelly and Island Games athletics team captain, Hannah Riley.

Other categories contested are under-21 sportsman, under-21 sportswoman, team, coach, sports administrator, Isle of Man ambassador, veteran sportsperson and disability sportsperson.

The recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award is selected by the Sports Awards committee and there is no shortlist for this category.

The event’s headline sponsor Microgaming, through its PlayItForward programme, will present the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year awards, and each of the other categories is sponsored by an Island company or organisation.

Gary Corkhill, Isle of Man Sport’s Executive Chairman, commented: ‘Nominations opened in December and the Manx public have shown their support for the event with fantastic number of nominations. The shortlisting process is always a difficult task for the committee, with the Isle of Man having so many sporting success stories throughout last year.

‘The Sports Awards are a highlight of the sporting year and a chance to celebrate the achievements of our sporting stars in 2017. This year’s nominees are an inspiration to others in their respective sports. The awards recognise the Island’s high-level performers and highlight their success on the world stage.’

The event also includes the presentation of the 2017 Sure Sports Leader of the Year Award and Sports Aid scholarships to athletes who will be supported by Isle of Man Sport Aid in 2018/2019.

Guest of honour at the awards is five-time Paralympic swimming champion, Ellie Simmonds OBE.

The event starts at 8.15pm. Tickets are available to book online via the Villa Gaiety box office

The full list of nominations:

2017 Sportsman of the Year, sponsored by Microgaming Play It Forward

Matthew Bostock (cycling)

Lee Cain (motorcycling)

Dan Kneen (motorcycling)

Jamie McCanney (enduro)

Liam Parker (athletics)

Jonathan Rea (motorcycling)

Joe Reid (athletics)

Kieran Tierney (football)

2017 Sportswoman of the Year, sponsored by Microgaming Play It Forward

Charlotte Atkinson (swimming)

Anna Christian (cycling)

Tara Donnelly (gymnastics)

Hannah Howitt (triathlon)

Erika Kelly (athletics)

Hannah Riley (athletics)

2017 Under 21 Sportsman of the Year, sponsored by Newfield

Thomas Bostock (cycling)

Matthew Bostock (cycling)

Ben Grainger (swimming)

Joe Harris (athletics)

Nick Harvey (gymnastics)

Adam Long (football)

Kieran Tierney (football)

2017 Under 21 Sportswoman of the Year, sponsored by SMP Partners

Anna Dawson (golf)

Tara Donnelly (gymnastics)

Tara Ferguson (cycling)

Jessica Li (badminton)

Olivia Marshall (swimming)

Amelia Sharpe (cycling)

2017 Disability Sportsperson of the Year, sponsored by Isle of Man Newspapers

Lawrence Dyer (athletics)

Letisha Ellis (swimming)

Ben Grainger (swimming)

David Hudson (football)

Sean Jackson (football)

Duncan Watterson (Special Olympics)

2017 Team of the Year, sponsored by Crowe Clark Whitehill

Douglas Rugby Club

IOM Disability Football Team

IOM Men’s Football Team

IOM Women’s Football Team

IOM Men’s Hockey Team

Manx Harriers Senior Ladies Team

2017 Administrator of the Year, sponsored by Manx Radio

Ray Cox (athletics)

Richard Fletcher (cycling)

Tony Jones (football)

Tim Leeming (hockey)

Clive Parrish (swimming)

Baillie Watterson (badminton)

2017 IOM Ambassador, sponsored by the Department of Enterprise

Charlotte Atkinson (swimming)

Mark Cavendish (cycling)

Mark Christian (cycling)

Philip Cringle (rugby)

Tom Gandy (golf)

Peter Kennaugh (cycling)

Tim Kneale (shooting)

2017 Coach of the Year, sponsor Conister Bank

Andy Fox (athletics)

Tim Kennaugh (cycling)

Brian Laing (swimming)

Valery Molchanov (gymnastics)

Carl Murray (rugby)

Jon Whiting (hockey)

2017 Veteran Sportsperson of the Year, sponsored by Mylchreests Group

Julie Canipa (motorcycling)

Karen Chiarello (athletics)

Gianni Epifani (athletics and cycling)

Gail Griffiths (athletics)

Dave Molyneux (motorcycling)

Lesley Sleight (field archery)

2017 Lifetime Achievement, sponsored by Keystone Law

The recipient of this award is selected by the Sports Awards committee.